Airing On Saturday
February 2
5th 2017

buy elavil uk 8:00 pm eastern, 7:00 pm central and 5:00 pm pacific

On Natures Talk Shows On the Brink Plants episode join Ken McKeighen and Ken Boorman as they discuss ground Orchids.Some orchids are endangered due to destruction of their habitats along with climate change. Tune in to learn how we all might help prevent their extinction.

This excert was copied from an article

Major Threats to Endangered Orchids of Victoria, Australia

Michael Duncan, Andrew Pritchard and Fiona Coates
Selbyana
“Endangered terrestrial orchids in the public network of parks and reserves, on private land, along roadsides, and in small vegetation remnants in Victoria, Australia, face a range of threats. These include weed invasion, grazing by invertebrates and native and introduced herbivores, road maintenance, and small population size resulting from habitat fragmentation. In addition, these areas have been affected often and adversely by altered fire regimes or hydrology, introduced pathogens, mining and forestry activities, recreational activities, and site disturbance. Many species are under threat of illicit collection, and many suffer from inadequate public understanding of basic orchid biology, of conditions required for seedling recruitment, and of the need to maintain specific pollinators and mycorrhizal fungi.” To read article click on the link.https://www.jstor.org/stable/41760190?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

https://www.fws.gov/international/plants/orchids.html

 

http://www.naturestalkshow.com/

On the Brink – Plants in Peril – Ground Orchids

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enjoy Natures Talk Show? Please Spread the Word :)