11535805_897411290330305_3226960036527888219_n

2608297

http://desertaireresort.com/room/lot-292-b-for-sale-62500/ Airing On Tuesday June 23rd

go site 8:00 pm eastern, 7:00 pm central and 5:00 pm pacific

On June 23rd at 8pm est, 7pm cst and 5pm pst, join Ray Owczarzak and Ken McKeighen as they discuss the insects that are nature’s cleanup crew Carrion Beetles.These beetles help remove dead animals from the landscape by eating the carcasses. Also included in this discussion will be the dung beetles. These interesting beetles are also part of nature’s cleanup crew by removing and burying dung. Members of this group eat dead animals or scavenge dung or decaying plant material. Adults and larvae often eat the same thing. The particular dining habits vary with species. Some simply eat the carcass. Others eat fly maggots that eat the carcass. Burying beetles (genus Nicrophorus) dig soil from beneath a fallen animal, causing the corpse eventually to sink beneath the dirt piling up around it. Then the burying beetles remove fur or feathers and prepare the meat for their larvae.

 

http://www.naturestalkshow.com/

 

 

Monsters of Nature – Carrion Beetles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enjoy Natures Talk Show? Please Spread the Word :)